top of page

GENDER / DIGITALIZATION

Gender equality and digital transformation

genre-numérique-2.jpg

The "Gender equality and digital transformation" project is led by the UNIL Equality Office, in partnership with the EPFL Equality Office, the HES-SO, the HEG-FR and the strukturelle association. The dhCenter UNIL-EPFL, which ceased its activities on 31 December 2022, was a founding member. Genre/numérique is supported by Swissuniversities, as part of the P7 project funding programme "Diversity, inclusion and equal opportunities in the development of higher education institutions" (2021-2024).

Gender and digital
This project was born out of the realisation that issues relating to gender equality and digital transformation are often dealt with without any point of contact between them, which significantly limits their scope.

 

The "Gender Equality and Digital Transformation" project is run by the UNIL Equality Office, in partnership with the EPFL Equality Office, the HES-SO, the HEG-FR and the strukturelle association. The dhCenter UNIL-EPFL, which ceased its activities on 31 December 2022, was a founding member. Genre/numérique is supported by Swissuniversities, as part of the P7 project funding programme "Diversity, inclusion and equal opportunities in the development of higher education institutions" (2021-2024).

Gender and digitalization
This project was born out of the realisation that issues relating to gender equality and digital transformation are often dealt with in isolation from each other, which significantly limits their scope.

However, the team behind the project maintains that :

  • that there can be no effective action for gender equality without it being effectively embedded in the digital domain;

  • that the digital transformation faces major obstacles and distortions if it does not confront the gender biases that run through it.

Objectives
By combining expertise in the fields of equality, digital technology, social sciences and humanities and entrepreneurship, the aim is to:

  • establish a state of the art on the mutual effects of digital transformation and gender bias;

  • encourage innovative approaches that use digital technology to promote gender equality;

  • study practical ways of supporting women's careers in the digital sector;

  • propose a guide to good practice in this area


  •  

The project will run for three years. A programme of actions, designed to bring together scientific research, political institutions and citizen projects, will be implemented during this period.


Assises
A series of three events (September 2022, 2023 and 2024) will be organised, bringing together people who are committed to studying the gender/digital issue and finding solutions. These people will come from both the academic world and society as a whole (institutions, businesses, the voluntary sector, the media, etc.). During the project, knowledge summaries will be proposed and, eventually, a best practice guide will be published.

Speed mentoring 
Alongside the sessions at the Assises, a range of one-to-one meetings will be organised in partnership with professional and academic associations, between women involved in digital-related careers and students or young professionals wishing to enter this field.

Research focus
From June 2022, a series of video interviews with female researchers who have produced innovative work at the crossroads of digital and gender will be available, along with a list of scientific references for those wishing to delve deeper into the subjects covered.

At the end of the project, the tools and resources produced will raise the social profile of the issues raised and offer possible solutions for a more inclusive digital world.

 

Additional Information:
wp.unil.ch/genre-numerique

bottom of page

top of page

GENDER / DIGITALISIERUNG

Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und digitale Transformation

genre-numerique-2.jpg

Das Projekt «Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und digitale Transformation» wird vom Gleichstellungsbüro der UNIL in Partnerschaft mit dem Gleichstellungsbüro der EPFL, der HES-SO, der HEG-FR und dem Verein strukturelle getragen. Das dhCenter UNIL-EPFL, dass seine Tätigkeit am 31. Dezember 2022 eingestellt hat, war Gründungsmitglied. Genre/Numerique wird von Swissuniversities im Rahmen des Projektfinanzierungsprogramms P7 "Diversität, Inklusion und Chancengleichheit in der Hochschulentwicklung" (2021-2024) unterstützt.

Gender und Digitalisierung
Dieses Projekt entstand aus der Erkenntnis, dass die Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und der digitalen Transformation häufig ohne Berührungspunkte zwischen ihnen behandelt werden, wodurch ihre Reichweite erheblich eingeschränkt wird.

Das Team, welches dieses Projekt initiiert hat, ist jedoch der Meinung, dass:

  • es keine wirksamen Massnahmen für die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter geben kann, wenn diese nicht wirksam im digitalen Bereich verankert wird;

  • dass die digitale Transformation mit erheblichen Hindernissen und Verzerrungen konfrontiert ist, wenn sie sich nicht mit den geschlechtsspezifischen Verzerrungen auseinandersetzt, die ihr zugrunde liegen.

Ziele
Durch die Zusammenführung von Fachwissen aus den Bereichen Gleichstellung, Digitalisierung, Sozialwissenschaften und Unternehmertum sollen folgende Ziele erreicht werden:

  • eine Bestandsaufnahme der gegenseitigen Auswirkungen der digitalen Transformation und der geschlechtsspezifischen Verzerrungen zu erstellen;

  • innovative Ansätze zu fördern, die die digitale Technik in den Dienst der Gleichstellung von Frauen und Männern stellen;

  • konkrete Möglichkeiten zur Unterstützung von Frauen in digitalen Berufen zu untersuchen;

  • einen Leitfaden für bewährte Verfahren in diesem Bereich zu erstellen.

Das Projekt ist auf drei Jahre angelegt. In diesem Zeitraum wird ein Aktionsprogramm umgesetzt, das wissenschaftliche Forschung, politische Institutionen und zivilgesellschaftliche Projekte zusammenbringt.

Assises 
Es wird ein Zyklus von drei Veranstaltungen (September 2022, 2023 und 2024) organisiert, der Personen zusammenbringt, die sich für die Untersuchung der Gender-Digital-Problematik und die Suche nach Lösungen engagieren. Diese werden sowohl aus der akademischen Welt als auch aus der gesamten Gesellschaft (Institutionen, Unternehmen, Vereinsnetz, Medien...) kommen. Während des Projekts werden Wissenssynthesen vorgeschlagen und letztendlich ein Leitfaden mit bewährten Praktiken veröffentlicht.

Speed-Mentoring 
Parallel zu den Sitzungen der Assises wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Berufsverbänden und akademischen Einrichtungen eine Reihe von One-to-One-Treffen zwischen Frauen, die eine Karriere im digitalen Bereich anstreben, und Student*innen oder jungen Berufstätigen, die sich in diesem Bereich engagieren möchten, organisiert.

Fokus Forschung
Ab Juni 2022 wird eine Reihe von Videointerviews mit Forscher*innen, die innovative Arbeiten an der Schnittstelle von Digitalität und Gender hervorgebracht haben, sowie eine Liste mit wissenschaftlichen Referenzen für Personen, die sich eingehender mit den behandelten Themen befassen möchten, zur Verfügung stehen.

Nach Abschluss des Projekts werden die produzierten Tools und Ressourcen die gesellschaftliche Sichtbarkeit der dargelegten Problematiken erhöhen und Lösungsansätze für eine integrativere digitale Welt bieten.

 

Weitere Informationen:
wp.unil.ch/genre-numerique

bottom of page