top of page

GENDER / DIGITALIZATION

Gender equality and digital transformation

genre-numérique-2.jpg

The "Gender equality and digital transformation" project is led by the UNIL Equality Office, in partnership with the EPFL Equality Office, the HES-SO, the HEG-FR and the strukturelle association. The dhCenter UNIL-EPFL, which ceased its activities on 31 December 2022, was a founding member. Genre/numérique is supported by Swissuniversities, as part of the P7 project funding programme "Diversity, inclusion and equal opportunities in the development of higher education institutions" (2021-2024).

Gender and digital
This project was born out of the realisation that issues relating to gender equality and digital transformation are often dealt with without any point of contact between them, which significantly limits their scope.

 

The "Gender Equality and Digital Transformation" project is run by the UNIL Equality Office, in partnership with the EPFL Equality Office, the HES-SO, the HEG-FR and the strukturelle association. The dhCenter UNIL-EPFL, which ceased its activities on 31 December 2022, was a founding member. Genre/numérique is supported by Swissuniversities, as part of the P7 project funding programme "Diversity, inclusion and equal opportunities in the development of higher education institutions" (2021-2024).

Gender and digitalization
This project was born out of the realisation that issues relating to gender equality and digital transformation are often dealt with in isolation from each other, which significantly limits their scope.

However, the team behind the project maintains that :

  • that there can be no effective action for gender equality without it being effectively embedded in the digital domain;

  • that the digital transformation faces major obstacles and distortions if it does not confront the gender biases that run through it.

Objectives
By combining expertise in the fields of equality, digital technology, social sciences and humanities and entrepreneurship, the aim is to:

  • establish a state of the art on the mutual effects of digital transformation and gender bias;

  • encourage innovative approaches that use digital technology to promote gender equality;

  • study practical ways of supporting women's careers in the digital sector;

  • propose a guide to good practice in this area


  •  

The project will run for three years. A programme of actions, designed to bring together scientific research, political institutions and citizen projects, will be implemented during this period.


Assises
A series of three events (September 2022, 2023 and 2024) will be organised, bringing together people who are committed to studying the gender/digital issue and finding solutions. These people will come from both the academic world and society as a whole (institutions, businesses, the voluntary sector, the media, etc.). During the project, knowledge summaries will be proposed and, eventually, a best practice guide will be published.

Speed mentoring 
Alongside the sessions at the Assises, a range of one-to-one meetings will be organised in partnership with professional and academic associations, between women involved in digital-related careers and students or young professionals wishing to enter this field.

Research focus
From June 2022, a series of video interviews with female researchers who have produced innovative work at the crossroads of digital and gender will be available, along with a list of scientific references for those wishing to delve deeper into the subjects covered.

At the end of the project, the tools and resources produced will raise the social profile of the issues raised and offer possible solutions for a more inclusive digital world.

 

Additional Information:
wp.unil.ch/genre-numerique

bottom of page

top of page

GENRE / NUMÉRIQUE

Égalité des genres et transformation numérique

genre-numérique-2.jpg

Le projet « Égalité femmes-hommes et transformation numérique » est soutenu par la Direction de l'égalité des chances de l'UNIL en partenariat avec la Direction de l'égalité des chances de l'EPFL, la HES-SO, la HEG-FR et l'Association Structurale. Le dhCenter UNIL-EPFL, qui a cessé ses activités le 31 décembre 2022, en était membre fondateur. Genre/Numerique est soutenu par Swissuniversities dans le cadre du programme de financement de projets P7 « Diversité, inclusion et égalité des chances dans le développement universitaire » (2021-2024).

Genre et numérisation
Ce projet est né de la prise de conscience que les défis liés à l'égalité des genres et à la transformation numérique sont souvent abordés sans points de contact entre eux, ce qui limite considérablement leur portée.

Cependant, l’équipe à l’origine de ce projet estime que :

  • il ne peut y avoir de mesures efficaces en faveur de l’égalité des sexes si elle n’est pas effectivement ancrée dans le secteur numérique ;

  • que la transformation numérique se heurte à d’importants obstacles et distorsions si elle ne s’attaque pas aux préjugés sexistes qui la sous-tendent.

Objectifs
En réunissant les expertises dans les domaines de l’égalité, de la numérisation, des sciences sociales et de l’entrepreneuriat, les objectifs suivants doivent être atteints :

  • faire le point sur l’impact mutuel de la transformation numérique et des préjugés sexistes ;

  • promouvoir des approches innovantes mettant le numérique au service de l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes ;

  • examiner des moyens concrets de soutenir les femmes dans les carrières numériques ;

  • produire un guide des meilleures pratiques en la matière.

Le projet devrait durer trois ans. Durant cette période, un programme d'action sera mis en œuvre associant recherche scientifique, institutions politiques et projets de la société civile.

Évaluations
Un cycle de trois événements (septembre 2022, 2023 et 2024) sera organisé, réunissant des personnes engagées pour étudier la question du genre numérique et trouver des solutions. Ceux-ci proviendront à la fois du monde académique et de la société dans son ensemble (institutions, entreprises, réseaux associatifs, médias...). Au cours du projet, des synthèses de connaissances seront proposées et un guide de bonnes pratiques sera finalement publié.

Mentorat rapide
En parallèle des Assises, en collaboration avec des associations professionnelles et des institutions académiques, une série de rencontres individuelles seront organisées entre des femmes souhaitant faire carrière dans le secteur numérique et des étudiants ou jeunes professionnels souhaitant s'impliquer. dans ce domaine, organisé.

Recherche ciblée
À partir de juin 2022, une série d’entretiens vidéo avec des chercheurs qui ont produit des travaux innovants à l’intersection du numérique et du genre seront disponibles, ainsi qu’une liste de références scientifiques pour ceux qui souhaitent approfondir les sujets abordés.

Une fois le projet terminé, les outils et ressources produits augmenteront la visibilité sociale des problématiques présentées et offriront des solutions pour un monde numérique plus inclusif.

 

Informations Complémentaires:
wp.unil.ch/genre-numérique

bottom of page